Event vs. Mainstore


I have heard a few times these days that designers complain that they don’t really get any visits to their main stores inworld. Some has actually posted the question on social media if they should continue their inworld store, or just be present at events. Then again, so many shoppers have complained that there are too many events and most of the events have the same items with only one exclusive item (which is understandable if you participate in 5+ events and had to make 5+ different exclusive items).

I had a think about that and I am beginning to find events extremely boring, especially the regular bi-monthly and some monthly events. The problem with those is that the same designers are in every single round and 10 different events the same month. So if you have visited one event, you have basically visited most of the other events too (with the exception of a few of course). I would like to see that designers participate in two or maybe three events in one month and then maybe participate in one or two different events the following month. Or choose your events carefully, and only participate every second month with the month in between – design something new for your store. Promote and make me want to come to your store and explore! I love visiting stores and finding other awesome stuff as well.

I think participating in events is an awesome marketing tool, but if I like something you designed and every single other avatar is wearing it, I’m not going to buy it. I’d rather go to your store and see what you have to offer. You caught my attention at the event, now keep my attention at your store. LpD did just that. I love her clothes (and no, I’m not blogging for her), but she had an outfit at The Chapter Four which I loved. Everyone did and every second blogger blogged it. Everywhere I went, everyone was wearing it. So I went to her store, and I absolutely love her style. It’s different and I can style it up or down. And the best of all… I’m not wearing the same shirt/pants/skirt as the next avatar. I really don’t care about the hottest newest thing on the market. I prefer different, unique.

I know that I might the only one with this point of view and I can’t imagine that the designers will even consider my proposal. In a perfect world I would rather see quality over quantity and an amazing reputation.

In this picture I’m wearing a Les Petits Details dress, The Sugar Garden glasses (they have a new store – go check it out) and Ayashi hair.

Give my secrets away

Body:
Skin: Lara Hurley-Fae smokey eyes midtone
Hair: [^.^Ayashi^.^] Marise-Basic set
Eyes: {S0NG} :: Ghost // Black Eye
Mouth: [whatever] Teeth 2.0 – normal

Clothes:
Dress: *Les Petits Details* – *Clelia* Dress Boho (Mesh)

Accessories:
Facial Piercings: :HV: Alice [Metal]*Mesh*- modified
Hand Piercings: !TLB – Slink Hand Piercing/Casual
Glasses: .The Sugar Garden. Shy Megane – Bubblegum
Earrings: Maxi Gossamer – Earrings – Barcelona
Necklace: Maxi Gossamer – Necklace – Window To My Heart

Pose:
Vibe – Curveture_01

Location:
Home Sweet Home

Published by

Lola Ghost

To live and learn and have fun along the way. :D

13 thoughts on “Event vs. Mainstore”

  1. You look adorable! As a person who DOES blog LpD (I am her blogger manager) I agree, Nevery does continue to make gorgeous things and she creates her own meshes, so it’s unique. And, like you, I tend to not wear the set but mix it up a bit. Thanks for the wonderful post, it’s kind of funny but on my drive in to work I made a mental note to FB chat you to see if you are OK. Are you? 😀 ♡ you Miss Lola!

    1. Thank you! I felt adorable in that dress! I never knew you were LpD’s blogger manager 😀 And that is exactly what I love about her stuff, its unique and really well made.

      I am great! I have been busy RL, really really enjoying my current job. Been there for the past almost two months and it is almost summer. 😀 So enjoying life 😀

      I hope you are well and happy too! ❤ ❤

      1. I am sooooo happy for you! If I remember correctly you dumped the dream job that wasn’t and you were hoping this is the new dream. Yay! You have much to celebrate this summer! ♡ you! :**

      2. Yeah that was the worst experience of my life. Sometimes what you think is the dream, isn’t. But that opened new doors and I’m happy 😀 Love you too!! ♥♥

  2. I am noticing in the very first week of major events opening one perfect example is Arcade where EVERYONE is wearing the same stuff, one of my friends another blogger who doesn’t even share fashion posts much says she hardly blogs now because everyone are wearing the same things because of events…I agree the constant bi-weekly events can become cliched and even monthly events become a bore, I found myself drifting back to main stores on the grid 😛

  3. I actually created a blogger challenge about this about three months ago – create a photo showing only items found at creators’ stores – no event items allowed. I called it the Uneventful Challenge 🙂 Ironically, several stores I visited are stocked almost completely with retired event items. But there are always those hidden gems (likeLpD) who have a creative streak that you can discover away from those perpetual events 🙂

    1. Oh no! I’m sorry I missed that challenge! It would have been fun. But sadly yes, because creators have to create so much for events their stores are mostly just retired event items. I would really like to see mainstore exclusives. That would make it interesting. Thank you so much for your reply!

Leave a Reply

